2013 Perseids Report

Credit: CBC News

Around 11 p.m. yesterday I left my grandparents house which is about 4 miles out of town, so it’s a bit darker there. It’s at least dark enough to see the galactic center. As my grandfather was walking me out to my truck we gazed up at the stars for a bit like we always do. I told him the Perseid shower was going on, though he had already knew this due to news reports. We were staring for about 2 minutes when one of the brightest meteors I had ever seen shot across the sky directly overhead. I nudged my grandfather’s arm in excitement and pointed to the shimmering meteor. “DID YOU SEE THAT?“, I exclaimed. To which he replied, “Oh yea”. There were lasting remnants of the meteor that stretched halfway across the sky for a few seconds. It was quite stunning!

After that sighting, my eyes were glued to the sky. I had to stay for a few more minutes to see if there were going to be any more. So I patiently waited for the next streak of light to cross the sky. It was only about a minute later when another very bright meteor shimmered across. It was a bit dimmer than the first, but only by about a third. I was quite impressed, as I had never seen any that bright before. I’m glad I took the time to look up.

Leave a Reply

